March 1 will be the first time since the turn of the century Swift Current voters will go to the polls and vote provincially on a ballot that does not include Brad Wall's name.

The governing Saskatchewan Party just announced that the byelection has officially begun to fill the seat of the now-retired MLA and premier.

Everett Hindley is running for the Saskatchewan Party, Stefan Rumpel is running for the NDP, and Aidan Roy is running for the Liberals. The Green Party haven't named a candidate but expect to, and it's uncertain whether the Progressive Conservatives will have someone on the ballot.

Kindersley and Melfort also have their byelections on March 1.

It's also Scott Moe's first day as the province's 15th different premier.

More Local News is Swift Current's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.